Established in 1773, Peters Creek has enjoyed a rich history of ministry and growth, centered in our allegiance to the Lordship of Jesus Christ. At Peters Creek, believers and seekers discover purpose, promise, hope and help for living in a daily relationship with Jesus Christ.
Rev. John Whitaker, who lived on Peters Creek near the Washington/Allegheny County line, drew up the convenant on November 10, 1773. It was signed by himself and eight other charter members, all of whom agreed to "solemnly unite as a Religious Society to the honour of God and the Butifiing of his Zion on the Earth and to stand by each other in Maintaining his truth and in Defending the several Doctrines and Rules of Discipline in the Baptist Confession of faith as well as all others warranted in the word of God" (original language).
In 1776, they began to meet more regularly in a log cabin on the east side of the Monongahela River at Elizabeth, but this location proved difficult to get to at times. In 1778, they built a second meeting-house on the property of Robert Estep near Gastonville. This building was closer to the home of its pastor, Rev. Whitaker, and was situated on the banks of Peters Creek, from which, in the meeting minutes of January 6, 1781, the church would take its permanent name.
The church's second pastor, Rev. David Philips, stayed with the church 43 years - the longest of any pastor to date. It was he who deeded some of his land to the church, and it is on this land that Peters Creek Baptist Church stands today.
The church's second century saw the construction of many new buildings as the church grew with the surrounding communities. In 1884, during the pastorate of J.K. Cramer, the people built a beautiful Gothic church building with a slate roof. Within 50 years, the heavy slate roof of the grand church began to buckle its walls, and the building was torn down in August of 1938. It would be ten years before they would have the money to construct the actual sanctuary, and it would be under the leadership of one of the most beloved pastors, Rev. Carl Boyer.
In order to meet the costs necessary to build, Rev. Boyer donated his salary back to the church, and issued Love-Gift Certificates to anyone donating $100 or more to the building fund. With the children cleaning bricks, the men doing the construction and the women cooking the men's meals, the new church building was ready for worship on November 13, 1949. This building still stands today, but is no longer used as a sanctuary. Instead it has been divided into a multi-purpose room and a chapel that was dedicated to the memory of Carl Boyer.
In the years that followed, the church enjoyed tremendous spiritual and physical growth, and added an education unit to the church building in 1956. By 1959, a second floor had been added to the structure, and by 1962, plans were underway for a new sanctuary that would seat 800 people.The cornerstone of the new sanctuary was laid on May 22, 1966 with Rev. W. Carey Ballbach presiding over the festivities. Construction moved fast, and by winter only finishing touches needed to be applied. A sign was placed over the entrances to the new sanctuary that cautioned: "Do Not Open Until Christmas." The first service there was held on December 25, 1966.
6300 Library Road | South Park, PA 15129